Sunday, May 17, 2020

Indian National Congress upto 2014

Indian National Congress
The Indian National Congress is a political party in India with deep roots. Founded in 1885, which has started the first modern  nationalist movement to emerge, under the British Empire in Asia and Africa. Congress led India to independence from Great Britain, and led to other anti-colonial nationalist movements in the British Empire. Congress is a party whose liberal social democratic platform is considered to be on the centre-left of Indian politics. On social and economic issues, it advocates liberty, social justice, equality, welfare state, along with progressive and secular society.

After India's independence in 1947, Congress formed the union government of India, under the leadership of Jawaharlal Nehru and many state governments of India Congress was India's dominant political party as of 2019, in the 17 general elections since independence, it has won an outright majority on seven occasions and has led the ruling coalition a further three times, heading the central government for more than 54 years. 

There have been six Congress Prime Ministers, the first being Jawaharlal Nehru, and the most recent Manmohan Singh (The Accidental Prime Minister). Although it did not influence people in the last two general elections in India in 2014 and 2019, it remains one of two major, nationwide, political parties in India, along with the right-wing, Nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party

In the 2014 general election, due to appeasement politics, corruption and many major scandals like, Coal Scam, Common Wealth Games, 2G Spectrum and many more which is yet Congress had its poorest post-independence general election performance, surprisingly by winning only 44 seats of the 543 Lok Sabha members much lower than the exit poll results in lower house of the Parliament of India.

From 2004 to 2014, UPA (United Progressive Alliance) a coalition of Congress with several regional parties, formed the Indian government led by former RBI Governor and Finance Minister in PV Narshima Roa led Government Manmohan Singh, the Prime Minister as the head of the coalition government, One of the most educated Prime Minister of India but he was fully controlled by party President Sonia Gandhi. The Supreme leader of the party during the period, Sonia Gandhi has served the longest term as the president of the party, she is also considered as the richest politicians of the World, Her party is in power in six legislative assemblies: Punjab, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, and the union territory of Puducherry .

To be continued...

No comments: